zingFit provides studios a good deal of control over enrollment of customers after a class is booked at capacity. This article reviews the components and triggers that affect system waitlist behavior.
A scheduled class that has reached its booking capacity is considered “full”. As a studio customer attempts to book a full class, she has the option to be added to the waitlist where she will remain until a spot opens up or until class start time, whichever comes first. A customer is assigned a position on the waitlist on a first-in-first-out basis.
In order to be added to the waitlist, a customer must have an active class package – in the case of a series package, a credit is deducted. An email is sent to the customer confirming the waitlist enrollment status. An email is also sent to the customer as she is enrolled from the wait list.
If the customer does not get enrolled in a class from the waitlist, the credit is returned to her account and the customer is removed from the waitlist.
The Cancellation Window
The Cancellation Window (Admin > Configuration > Studio) determines the minutes before class (or minutes before midnight) that a customer can cancel a class enrollment/booking without penalty.
Cancel Up To: This is when the late cancelation window begins
Late Cancel Up To: This is when the cancelation window closes and customers will not be able to cancel at all.
Customers can only cancel class enrollment up until the end of the studio's cancellation window. After the confirmation window closes, the "un-reserve" link is no longer available to customers and a "late cancel" button appears. This allows the clients to release their spot as a courtesy to other clients who might be otherwise locked out.
Waitlist enrollment prior to the Cancellation Window Threshold
Prior to the cancellation window threshold, if a studio has auto-enrolled enable (zingFit system default), customers are automatically enrolled from the waitlist as enrolled customers cancel their reservations.
Waitlist enrollment after to the Cancellation Window Threshold
Customers are not automatically enrolled as customers cancel reservations. Studio staff must manually enroll customers from the waitlist. As class time nears, studios will want to call customers to make sure they are able to attend.
To review … how do customers get enrolled into a class from the waitlist?
It depends on a number of system configurations.
- Auto – Enroll from waitlist – This feature turned on by default. Customers will be auto – enrolled based on another customer’s “cancel” request. “Late cancels” do not trigger auto-enroll.
- Manually by staff – The system closes the class and clients must be added to and removed from the wait list manually. If the wait list is satisfied and spots are still open, you can manually re-open the class by clicking the “Re-open Class” button on the class in the Booker.
- Reopen Full Class On Late Cancel – This option, in system settings, must be set to True. The system will open the class automatically upon a late cancellation. Studio can send out an email via the Booker (Class dropdown > Email Waitlist) to notify the students that there is now a spot open.
How do studio staff view the waitlist?
From the Booker, you can view the waitlist details.
- Clicking on S will populate the customer’s Series page.
- Clicking Remove will remove the customer from the Waitlist.
- Clicking Priority will move the customer ahead of others on the Waitlist.
- Clicking Called will not do anything in the system – it is only there for tracking.
How do studio customers view the waitlist?
Studios customers cannot see waitlist details. However, on the studio website they can see a “W” badge that will appear once the class has reached its capacity, and an “F” badge that will appear when the waitlist has reached its size limit. Clicking on a class with a “W” badge will lead the customer to a new page that asks her if she would like to be added to the waitlist. Clicking on a class with an “F” badge will lead the customer to a new page with a message that the class is full. See the “Waitlist and Class Full Icons on Reserve Schedule”
Wait list Configuration Options
Admin > Configuration > System Settings > Booking
- Cancellable Minutes For Waitlist – Minutes before class customers can remove themselves from the waitlist.
- Waitlist Limit – Adjust the maximum number of customers that can be added to the waitlist.
- Auto-Enroll From Waitlist – Auto-Enroll from waitlist. This feature is turned on by default. Customers will be auto-enrolled based on another customer’s “cancel” request. “Late cancels” do not trigger auto-enroll.
- Re-open Full Class - Reopens class when customers cancels
- Enroll From Waitlist Cutoff – Hours before class time that auto-enroll is stopped. In order for this feature to take effect, the value must be greater than the preset cancellation window value.(This value will not be effective if less than cancel window value).
- Reopen Full Class On Late Cancel – True or false setting.
- Show Waitlist Position – Shows the customer their position on the wait list in the classes they signed-up for.
Admin > Sceduling/Retail > Scheduling > Series/Contracts > Booking Options
- Priority Waitlist – Selecting Yes will put these Series holders above other waitlist customers on booking.
Admin > Configuration > Studios
- Cancellable Mode – Studio can change the Mode to either fromclass or frommidnight.
- Cancellable Minutes field – Number of minutes before the class starts (or before midnight) customers can cancel themselves from a class without penalty(the cancellation window).
- Late Cancel Ends – Number of minutes before the start of class that a customer can late cancel (no show) themselves. After the cancellation window closes, the "un-reserve" link is no longer available to customers and a "late cancel" button appears. This allows the clients to release their spot as a courtesy to other clients who might be otherwise locked out. With the Late Cancel Ends option customers will be automatically added to the “No Show” report where studios can then assess a fee. The studio admin is notified by email. To disable the Late Cancel feature, set the time in the Late Cancel Ends field to a value equal to Cancellable Minutes in the Studios configuration or If you have the Cancellable Mode set to “frommidnight” you can enter the number “2000” in the Late Cancel Ends field to disable the Late Cancel feature. There is currently no notification to the studio owners or staff that a customer has Late Cancelled.
Open/Close Class On Late Cancel
When a customer Late Cancels, a spot opens up in the class. But depending on studio policy, the spot might not be open to the public. If the System Setting "Open Class on Late Cancel" is set to true, then any person who happens to check the studio reservation page will be able to book a Late Canceled spot, even if there is a waitlist full of people. Leaving the class closed, though, will prevent the public form luckily reserving a spot this way.